Minimum wage hike, vaping changes take effect in Florida this week

Minimum wage workers in Florida will get a voter-approved pay boost this week, while about two-dozen new laws kick in, including a regulatory framework for electronic cigarettes.

After just over 60% of voters approved a constitutional amendment in November, the state’s minimum wage will go from $8.65 an hour — about $18,000 a year for a full-time worker — to $10 on Thursday, with the rate for tipped workers moving up from $5.63 an hour to $6.98 an hour.

Under the constitutional amendment,…